Introducing: Natasha Whitby

Find out how much fire you’ll need to sit front row with new instructor Natasha.

Natasha went to college in North Carolina where she danced for the school’s dance team, cheering on the football and basketball teams. Although she was a dancer, she was never into spin or fitness in general until after graduation. Natasha discovered spin and instantly fell in love with the ability to get lost in the music and work on just “doin’ you” for 45 minutes. Because of her dance background, the music, rhythm and choreography in spin felt like second nature. As soon as she discovered The Handle Bar, she instantly wanted to work on becoming an instructor; eight months later the opportunity arose and she couldn’t be happier.

She hopes to bring strength, drive and intensity to the riders in her class. Spinning has helped Natasha gain confidence and would like to help her riders feel the same.

How did you get involved in health and wellness? What do you love about it?

For a really long time, spin and boxing classes were the only time I felt powerful and confident. I danced growing up and throughout college, but always struggled with being secure, positive and confident with myself. It wasn’t until about a year after graduation when I went to my first spin class and loved the energy and how I felt. I have spin to thank for growing into the person I am today.

If your life could be summed up in ONE song, what would that song be?

“Diva” by Beyoncé because…

“a Diva is a female version of a hustla…”

What’s your spirit animal and why?

This was a tough one; I had to consult the besties for this. After heated discussion, the group concluded to a… SWAN. Swans are serene and beautiful, but if you cross them…they’re not so pleasant. Don’t mess with me, guys!

What are words you live by?

“I don’t like women telling other women what to do, or how to do it, or when to do it.”

Regardless, if it’s an opinion coming from a man or woman, I’m going to do what I want, when I want to do it. I don’t need anyone to question my choices, because I will ignore them and do what I want anyway.

Sign up to see Natasha in action on the podium at The Handle Bar South Boston and Harvard Square.

Leave a comment